jump to navigation

17. IdeaSpark*: Memorial Forest November 4, 2006

Posted by Matt Fleming, PsyD in Experience, IdeaSpark*, Service.
trackback

forest

I told my wife that when I die, I want to be buried, naked, in a biodegradable bag. I will be lowered into a shallow hole. Then a sapling will be planted right above me. Sure, there can be a ceremony, and even a dedicated plaque or bench.

So, instead of my healthy nutrients being locked in a casket, or losing energy through heat and the polluting of the sky (via cremation), my body will feed the tree. And when my loved ones come visit year after year, they can see how the tree has slowly grown, and they can pay their respects to a living thing, knowing that my molecules and energy are in the bark and the leaves.

Imagine going to a memorial forest, instead of a cemetary; Growing, beautiful trees vs. cold stone markers.

Comments»

1. mark - November 4, 2006

Very impressed with the consistency of the postings…this has to give you some incredible momentum with your creativity. creativity is a muscle, matty, and soon you’ll be benching 280.

2. 37. Song: Exitlude, by The Killers « MetaBugg.com - January 26, 2007

[…] I die, I think I would like this song to be played at my Tree Planting Ceremony (in the Memorial Forest, of […]

3. 185. Bright Idea: Freeze-Dried Burial « SparkBugg.com - February 28, 2007

[…] Ah, this idea is even better than one of my previous IdeaSparks* (#17: The Memorial Forest): […]

4. calling cold - January 29, 2013

I seriously love your blog.. Very nice colors & theme.
Did you make this site yourself? Please reply
back as I’m wanting to create my own personal website and would like to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is named. Appreciate it!

5. human resources management - February 27, 2013

This is a topic that is near to my heart… Thank you!
Exactly where are your contact details though?

6. Maynard - May 19, 2013

It’s truly a nice and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

