jump to navigation

117. Bright Idea: Hidden Key Safe January 4, 2007

Posted by Matt Fleming, PsyD in Product.
trackback

I was cleaning out a drawer today, and I came across the instruction booklet for Acesspoint’s Stor-a-Key.

One year ago: I had been annoyed by several locksmith visits (at $100/pop) after locking ourselves out of our condo, but I then found this little bugger.

Since then: I hide a spare key on a different floor of my building, tucked neatly away thanks to the super-strong magnet found on one side. The programmable combination lock adds extra security and peace of mind knowing that I am the only one that is ever going to be using that key.

Buy it HERE (Amazon).

Comments»

1. SparkBugg - January 4, 2007

p.s.

Turns out, a great product is only as good as it’s utilizer. Some time ago, I locked myself out, but then got myself back in, thanks to the Stor-a-Key. Later on that evening, I locked myself outself again, but forgot to return the Stor-e-Key to it’s little building hiding nook.

So, I called the friendly and quiet 24-hour locksmith, who came, but then had so much trouble with our lock, he had to drill and destroy it to get it open.

Though it was always fun to observe the internal workings of a lock and key system,
(check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pin_tumbler_lock)
I hope to never see that man again.

2. 225. Bright Idea: Key Safe « SparkBugg.com - March 15, 2007

[…] time ago, I posted on a similar item, a hidden magnetic key safe (Post #117), which is perfect for my condo building. But today, I encountered this Key Safe, which is better […]


Leave a Reply

