jump to navigation

196. Bright Idea: Oven Rack Guard March 6, 2007

Posted by Matt Fleming, PsyD in Food and Drink, Product.
trackback

Last night, my wife burned her wrist on the oven rack (yet again). I need to get us this Cool Touch Oven Rack Guard.

Made out of NOMEX (a fabric firefighters use), this bright product can withstand heat up to 500 degrees F. The cost is $15 each (buy it HERE). Via AmericanInventorSpot.com.

Incidentally, my wife was roasting garbanzo beans during the self-inflicted burn. This snack is amazing: it’s a healthy, crunchy, protein treat (recipe here).

*

Comments»

1. Dave - March 6, 2007

This is a great idea. I looked at the website. I wonder if a little art work might make this even better.

2. SparkBugg - March 6, 2007

I agree that the website is not the best. It actually took me a few moments to figure how much it cost and how to order it.

But, it’s a very simple and creative solution to a common problem. I wouldn’t be surprised if oven manufacturers start incorporating it directly into the rack design, as well as an easy grab handle (out of silicone, perhaps?).


Leave a Reply

