jump to navigation

206. IdeaSpark*: Ergonomic Split Keyboard March 8, 2007

Posted by Matt Fleming, PsyD in IdeaSpark*, Product.
trackback

Pictured here is the Kinesis Keyboard, arguably the most ergonomic keyboard on the market. Not only does it optimize hand placement, the concavity of the keys minimizes the effort required for keystrokes.

However, depending on your desk and chair positioning, you can still strain your shoulders and arms while typing. The most comfortable sitting position for me is resting my arms completely on the adjustable armrests.

My IdeaSpark*: essentially split this keyboard in half, and make it so each half can attach to an end of an armrest. As a result, when your arms are in their most relaxed and natural position, the keys will be right at your fingertips. Add a small little mousepad off to the side, and you have the most ergonomic typing arrangement I can imagine.

Bonus IdeaSparks*: (1) I use the backspace key way more than the :/; key (under my right pinky). I say switch the two. (2) I also frequently use the arrow keys when for correcting or editing when typing. So, have a key near your left pinky that, when depressed, turns the J,I,K,L keys into L,U,R, and D directional keys.

*

Comments»

1. Carol - March 8, 2007

This is a great one. Let’s invent it!!!


Leave a Reply

