jump to navigation

261. Bright Idea: Medi-Crunch Dog Treats March 29, 2007

Posted by Matt Fleming, PsyD in Food and Drink, Product.
trackback

The shot glasses in the previous post reminded me of this Bright Idea: dog treats that can hold pills inside of them.

Most dogs will have to take some sort of medication at some point. For our Barkley, it is his monthly heartworm pill. Trying to wrap cheese around it, or smear peanut butter on it, was no longer fooling my pup (how long would you eat your scoop of ice cream if it had a large, bitter rock in it?). Luckily, someone ideated treats that can easily enclose pills. These Med-Crunch Treats have a crunchy exterior, and a soft peanut butter interior for added taste and adherence. Buy them HERE ($9).

Thanks to this inspiring Bright Idea, when I have kids, I am going to bake large tubular cookies where I can stash pieces of broccoli in the middle.

*

Comments»

1. Hugo Estrada - March 29, 2007

This is an excellent idea. Giving medicine to children is a big problem. Having something similar for children would be nice , although I know from experience that it doesn’t work that well with children.

As for giving broccoli to children, the trick is not to overcook it: three minutes in the steamer, and take them out. 😉

2. Carol - March 29, 2007

Brilliant! Why didn’t we think of this!!!!

3. cleop - March 29, 2007

i love this idea. i always struggle to feed my dog pills– peanut butter gets all over his beard and i usually end up having to shove it down his throat because he is on to my tricks. i will buy these for sure.

4. SparkBugg - April 5, 2007

Thanks for the comments! Hugo, thanks for the broccoli tip. I will try it for myself (and then with my kids, one day, when I have them).
-SparkBugg


Leave a Reply

